PMI Agile Certified Practitioner

What is a PMI Agile Certified Practitioner®?

Agile is one of the two primary project management methodologies. PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP®) credential recognizes the candidates’ expertise in implementing agile practices, principles, tools, and techniques. Companies employ agile operations when they lack the certainty of the project cost, duration, or no defined outcome.

PMI-ACP® sets universal standards which span across several agile approaches such as Scrum, Lean, Kanban, Extreme Programming (XP), and Test-driven development (TDD). Many companies continue seeking Agile certified professionals to increase the versatility of their projects.

Benefits of PMI-ACP® Certification

Proves Professional Ability – A PMI-ACP® certification validates your knowledge of employing agile practices, tools, techniques, and methodologies. The certification adds value to your resume as it highlights your ability to handle challenging projects in an agile environment. Increasing adaptability in Agile technologies will effectively improve productivity and enhance customer satisfaction. The certification represents your commitment to improving your professional skills and agile knowledge.

Higher salary – The PMI-ACP® certificate holder can earn up to 28% more salary in comparison to non-certified peers. PMI-ACP® has consistently been the highest paying IT certification. Moreover, the PMI-ACP® salary trend predicts continued growth in the future. In addition to higher income, PMI-ACP® certification improves your job security as many companies value the skills you learn through certification during downtime.

High Demand – Most international to national organizations use Agile methods for their projects, increasing the demand for agile professionals among employers. PMI-ACP® certified candidates can easily stand out among other non-certified candidates as there is high demand for effective and trained agile practitioners.

Global Recognition – Certified offered by PMI are globally recognized and accepted across various industries. Anyone can easily apply for the PMI-ACP® exam and earn the certification, which will significantly boost your career growth.

What do you Learn in the PMI-ACP® Certification Course?

The PMI-ACP® exam aims to validate if the practitioner has the necessary knowledge and agile skills. Below are the knowledge and skills categorized into three levels.

Level 1 Level 2 Level 3
Active listening Active listening Agile framework and terminology
Agile communication management Agile communication management Facilitation methods
Agile problem-solving strategies, tools, and techniques Building high performance teams Agile project accounting principles
Agile manifesto and principles Agile participatory decision models Principles of system thinking
Feedback techniques for products Agile business case development Applying new agile practices
Accessing and incorporating community and stakeholder values PMI's code of ethics and professional conduct Regulatory compliance
Incremental delivery Co-location/distributed teams Compliance - Organizational
Stakeholder management Process analysis techniques Variance and trend analysis
Agile brainstorming techniques Agile continuous improvement process Control limits for Agile projects
Agile knowledge sharing self-assessment Variations in agile methods and approaches
Agile team motivation Project charter for an agile project Failure modes and alternatives
Building empowered teams Value-based analysis Vendor management
Coaching and mentoring within teams Globalization, culture and diversity

Target Audience

PMI-ACP® is highly suitable for professionals in agile teams or organizations adopting agile practices. PMI Agile certification is considered a requirement throughout the IT and tech companies for all project management roles across the globe. This PMI-ACP® Certification course is designed for project managers, agile team members, associate managers, team leads, managers, project executives, software developers, and any professionals aspiring to become project managers.

PMI-ACP® Certification Eligibility Criteria

As per the PMI guidelines, you need to obtain the following requirements to be eligible to sit for the PMI-ACP® exam.

Education background
General Project Experience
Agile Project Experience
Training in Agile Practices
PMI-ACP® Certification Exam Format
  • 120 multiple-choice questions (with 100 scored and 20 unscored questions
  • Duration: 2 hours
  • The questions are divided into seven domains: Agile Principles and Mindset (16%), Value-driven Delivery (20%), Stakeholder Engagement (17%), Team Performance (16%), Adaptive Planning (12%), Problem Detection and Resolution (10%), and Continuous Improvement (9%).
PMI-ACP® Exam and Training Cost

The cost structure varies for PMI members and non-PMI members. Exams conducted by PMI are usually online-computer-based tests (CBTs), but in some cases, they are also conducted in paper format (PBTs). It costs $139 to become a member, but you save $60 on exam fees. Exam fees normally cost $495 for non-members whereas PMI members pay $435.

Application Process for PMI-ACP® Exam
● Register to become a PMI member. This step is optional. The fee for PMI membership is $139 including the one-time $10 application fee. ● Acquire 21 contact hours by opting for the PMI-ACP® certification preparation course. ● Start filling out the application form on the PMI website with all your education details, agile projects, and training information. ● It usually takes PMI up to 3-5 days to review your application. On successful review, you will receive a confirmation email to pay the exam fees. ● Pay the exam fees and schedule your exam with Pearson VUE. ● You have 1 year to take the exam after your application is approved. ● You get three chances to sit for the PMI-ACP® exam within a year.
PMI-ACP® Certification Validity and Renewal process

When you pass the PMI-ACP® exam, the certification is valid for three years. To maintain the credential, you must continue to meet the certification requirements by earning 30 professional development units (PDUs).

A minimum of 18 PDUs must be education-based to enhance your management, leadership, or strategic skills. Professional volunteer work is limited to 12 PDUs. Upon meeting your PDU requirements, you will have to pay a renewal fee.

PMI members pay $60, and non-members pay $150. In the event you do not renew your certificate in time (exactly three years from the test date), your certification will be suspended for one year. Your certificate will expire if you do not satisfy the requirements within that time.

Certifications Made Easy


Training Providers

Recent Blogs

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
  • Attributes
  • Custom attributes
  • Custom fields
Click outside to hide the compare bar
Compare ×
Let's Compare! Continue shopping